• Committees & Forums


  • ACEC/NC Committees and Forums are one of the most important benefits to our members.  Each group has a Board nominated Chair and Vice-Chair who are selected each year from the active participants.  Your entire staff can be involved. Following are the Committees’ and Forums’ Chairs:

    Click the Committee or Forum name to go to the description, Chairs and Liaisons:


     

    Buildings & Infrastructure Committee

      Focusing on all aspects of vertical development projects and their respective sites, this committee serves as liaison between ACEC/NC and multiple owner types and related agencies (including but not limited to higher education institutions, NC Office of State Construction, municipalities, K-12 school districts, healthcare institutions and private industry) and monitors their activities in project planning, design, construction, budgeting and selection of design firms. Focus areas include building construction, site and infrastructure development, code compliance, sustainability and energy conservation.

     This committee also focuses on economic development activity that affects projects and member firms, with the goal to develop a mutually beneficial relationship between ACEC/NC and economic development organizations such as the North Carolina Economic Developers Association (NCEDA) and raise the visibility and profile of member firms within the economic development community.

    Board Liaison: 
       Brian Glidewell
    S&ME, Inc.
    3718 Old Battleground Road
    Greensboro, NC 27410
    (336) 288-7180
    bglidewell@smeinc.com
    Chair: Eddie Brock
    REI Engineers
    9121 Anson Way, Suite 100
    Raleigh, NC 27615
    (919) 845-1450x133
    ebrock@reiengineers.com
    Vice-Chair: Eric Olsen
    SUMMIT DESIGN AND ENGINEERING SERVICES, PLLC
    504 Meadowlands Drive
    Hillsborough, NC 27278
    (919) 732-3883 (work)
    Fax: (919) 732-6676
    eric.olsen@summitde.net

    ^RETURN TO LIST

     

    Business Practices Committee

       Small and Large Business Leaders interested in improving the efficiency and operation of large and small firms are members of this committee. The objective of this committee is to reach out to and expand opportunities for business members of ACEC/NC, protect the interests of engineering firms, and offer business leaders a chance to leverage the collective knowledge of a larger group, to improve overall performance related to human resources, financial, legal, business development, and operations.

    Board Liaison: Michael Slusher
    DAVIS-MARTIN-POWELL & ASSOCIATES, INC
    6415 Old Plank Road
    High Point, NC 27265
    (336) 886-4821 (work)
    mslusher@dmp-inc.com
    Chair: Greg Sallee
    McAdams Company
    2905 Meridian Parkway
    Durham, NC 27713
    (919) 361-5000
    sallee@mcadamsco.com
    Vice Chair: Justine D'Andrea
    Ramey Kemp Associates
    5808 Faringdon Place, Suite 100
    Raleigh, NC 27609
    (919) 987-1290
    jdandrea@rameykemp.com

    ^RETURN TO LIST

     

    Environmental/Energy Committee

       This committee interacts with various departments and agencies of the State who are involved in environmental activities. Members interact with agency representatives to help improve relationships and assist in promoting environmental policies that benefit both member firms and State agencies. The committee also seeks to monitor and develop an information program on energy/power and private industrial issues. This mirrors a national goal of serving this industry segment and providing value to private and utility sector firms. 

    Board Liaison: Amit Sachan
    ATKINS
    1616 E. Millbrook Road, Ste. 310
    Raleigh, NC 27609
    (919) 876-6888
    Amit.Sachan@atkinsglobal.com
    ACEC/NC Co-Chair: Joe Starr
    TERRACON CONSULTANTS, INC.
    2401 Brentwood Road, Suite 107
    Raleigh, NC 27604
    (984) 202-7263 (work)
    joe.starr@terracon.com
    PENC Co-Chair: Tom Bach, PE,  FPENC
    Stormwater Services, City of Concord
    PO Box 308
    Concord, NC 28026
    (704) 920-5344
    bacht@concordnc.gov

    ^RETURN TO LIST

     

    Future Leaders Program

       This program seeks to provide young professionals with the broad-based, in-depth industry knowledge they will need in order to rise into leadership positions within ACEC/NC member firms. Future Leaders are nominated annually for this program.

     

    Board Liaison: Derek Clyburn, PE
    ECS Southeast, LLP
    9001 Glenwood Avenue
    Raleigh, NC 27617
    (919) 861-9910
    DClyburn@ecslimited.com
    Co-Chair:  Jessica McClure
    Ramey Kemp & Associates
    5808 Faringdon Place, Ste. 100
    Raleigh, NC 27609
    (919) 872-5115
    Jmcclure@rameykemp.com
    Co-Chair: Stephen Browde
    Calyx Engineers & Consultants
    6750 Tryon Road
    Cary, NC 27518
    (919) 836-4800
    sbrowde@calyxengineers.com

     

    ^RETURN TO LIST

     

    Legislative Committee

       This committee monitors State and National legislation that may impact the engineering industry. The committee compiles the Council’s legislative agenda for approval by the Board of Directors and assists in the lobbying efforts to support that agenda. The committee also promotes and organizes events that focus on furthering the Council’s legislative agenda.

    Board Liaison:   Scott Hinesley
    REI Engineers, Inc.
    1927 JN Pease Place Ste. 201
    Charlotte, NC 28262
    (704) 595-0331 x 222
    shinesley@reiengineers.com
    Chair: Jeremy Potter
    HDR
    555 Fayetteville St #900
    Raleigh, NC 27601
    (919) 232.6669
    Jeremy.Potter@hdrinc.com
    Vice-Chair:  TBD ON 6/12/2018

    ^RETURN TO LIST

    Senior Leaders Forum

       This forum serves as a platform for our member firms’ senior leadership to meet and exchange ideas on bettering our business practices with public and private sector clients. In addition, this forum will allow senior members to identify issues that the Board of ACEC/NC should consider focusing on and suggesting action items related to the political process that could be important to the long-term viability of the private engineering industry. Please note that this forum is mindful of anti-collusion requirements and will not discuss those items that could be construed as collusion.

    Board Liaison: Monty Irvin, P.E. PTOE
    Ramey Kemp & Associates
    5808 Faringdon Place, Ste. 100
    Raleigh, NC 27609
    Tel: (919) 872-5115
    mirvin@rameykemp.com
    Chair: Valoree Eikinas
    Calyx Engineers & Consultants 
    6750 Tryon Road
    Cary, NC 27518
    (919) 836-4800
    veikinas@calyxengineers.com

    ^RETURN TO LIST

     

    Transportation Committee

       This committee serves as a liaison between ACEC/NC and the North Carolina Department of Transportation and other public agencies dealing with all areas of transportation including highways, railways, airports, waterways, mass transit, and other forms of public transportation.
     

    Board Liaison:  
    Elizabeth Phipps, P.E.

    KCI ASSOCIATES OF NC, PA
    4601 Six Forks Rd, #220
    Raleigh, NC 27609
    (919) 783-9214
    liz.phipps@kci.com
    Chair: Jason Peterson
    S&ME
    3201 Spring Forest Road
    Raleigh, NC 27616
    (919) 872-2660
    jpeterson@smeinc.com
    Vice-Chair:  Keith Skinner
    (Design)
    RK&K
    900 Ridgefield Dr, Ste. 350
    Raleigh, NC 27609
    (919) 878-9560
    kskinner@rkk.com
    Vice-Chair: Robert Walker
    (CEI)
    DRMP, Inc.
    8000 Regency Parkway, #175
    Cary, NC 27518 
    (919) 650-1038 
    RWalker@drmp.com

    ^RETURN TO LIST