• Committees & Forums


  • ACEC/NC Committees and Forums are one of the most important benefits to our members.  Each group has a Board nominated Chair and Vice-Chair who are selected each year from the active participants.  Your entire staff can be involved. Following are the Committees’ and Forums’ Chairs:

    Click the Committee or Forum name to go to the description, Chairs and Liaisons:


     

    Buildings & Infrastructure Committee

      Focusing on all aspects of vertical development projects and their respective sites, this committee serves as liaison between ACEC/NC and multiple owner types and related agencies (including but not limited to higher education institutions, NC Office of State Construction, municipalities, K-12 school districts, healthcare institutions and private industry) and monitors their activities in project planning, design, construction, budgeting and selection of design firms. Focus areas include building construction, site and infrastructure development, code compliance, sustainability and energy conservation.

     This committee also focuses on economic development activity that affects projects and member firms, with the goal to develop a mutually beneficial relationship between ACEC/NC and economic development organizations such as the North Carolina Economic Developers Association (NCEDA) and raise the visibility and profile of member firms within the economic development community.

    Board Liaison:  Gary Hartong
    Wooten Company, The
    120 N Boylan Ave
    Raleigh, NC 27603
    (919) 828-0531
    ghartong@thewootencompany.com

     

    Chair:  Alison Koss
    KCI Associates of NC, PA
    4505 Falls of Neuse Road, Suite 400
    Raleigh, NC 27609
    (919) 783-9214
    Alison.Koss@kci.com

    Vice-Chair: Jonathan E. Locklear, PE
    Locklear, Locklear & Jacobs, PLLC
    114 W 3rd Street
    Pembroke, NC 28372
    (910) 774– 9306 ext. 27
    jonathanlocklear@llandj.com

     

    Business Practices Committee

      Small and Large Business Leaders interested in improving the efficiency and operation of large and small firms are members of this committee. The objective of this committee is to reach out to and expand opportunities for business members of ACEC/NC, protect the interests of engineering firms, and offer business leaders a chance to leverage the collective knowledge of a larger group, to improve overall performance related to human resources, financial, legal, business development, and operations.

    Board Liaison:  Michael Slusher
    Davis-Martin-Powell & Associates, Inc.
    6415 Old Plank Road
    High Point, NC 27265
    (336) 886-4821 
    mslusher@dmp-inc.com

    Chair: Justine D’Andrea
    Ramey Kemp & Associates
    5808 Faringdon Place, Suite 100
    Raleigh, NC 27609
    (919) 987-1290
    jdandrea@rameykemp.com
    Vice-Chair: Trey Hendrick
    ECS Southeast, LLP
    1812 Center Park Drive, Suite D
    Charlotte, NC 28217
    (704) 525-5152
    thendrick@ecslimited.com

     

    Environmental/Energy Committee (joint with PENC)

      This committee interacts with various departments and agencies of the State who are involved in environmental activities. Members interact with agency representatives to help improve relationships and assist in promoting environmental policies that benefit both member firms and State agencies. The committee also to monitor and develop an information program on energy/power and private industrial issues. This mirrors a national goal of serving this industry segment and providing value to private and utility sector firms. It will also promote recruitment of these firms to membership in ACEC/NC.

    Board Liaison: Colin Davis
    Kleinfelder
    6200 Harris Technology Blvd
    Charlotte, NC 28269
    (704) 598-1049
    cdavis@kleinfelder.com
    ACEC/NC Co-Chair: Amos Clark
    McAdams Company
    2905 Meridian Parkway
    Durham, NC 27713
    (919) 361-5000
    clark@mcadamsco.com
    PENC Co-Chair: Brian Johnson
    Wooten  Company, The
    120 N. Boylan Avenue
    Raleigh, NC 27603
    (919) 828-0531
    bjohnson@thewootencompany.com

         

    Future Leaders Program

     This program seeks to provide young professionals with the broad-based, in-depth industry knowledge they will need in order to rise into leadership positions within ACEC/NC member firms. Future Leaders are nominated annually for this program.

    Board Liaison: Scott Hinesley
    REI Engineers, Inc.
    1927 JN Pease Place Ste. 201
    Charlotte, NC 28262
    (704) 595-0331 x 222
    shinesley@reiengineers.com
    Co-Chair: Stephen Browde
    NV I 5
    6750 Tryon Road
    Cary, NC 27518
    (919) 836-4800
    Stephen.Browde@nv5.com
    Co-Chair:  Jessica McClure
    Ramey Kemp & Associates, Inc.
    5808 Faringdon Place, Ste. 100
    Raleigh, NC 27609
    (919) 872-5115
    Jmcclure@rameykemp.com

     

    Legislative Committee

     This committee monitors State and National legislation that may impact the engineering industry. The committee compiles the Council’s legislative agenda for approval by the Board of Directors and assists in the lobbying efforts to support that agenda. The committee also promotes and organizes events that focus on furthering the Council’s legislative agenda, and supporting our State and National Political Action Committees.

    Board Liaison: Paul Meehan
    HDR Engineering, Inc. of the Carolinas
    555 Fayetteville Street Suite 900
    Raleigh, NC 27601
    (919) 232-6611 
    paul.meehan@hdrinc.com

    Chair: Jeremy Potter
    HDR
    555 Fayetteville St #900
    Raleigh, NC 27601
    (919) 232-6669
    Jeremy.Potter@hdrinc.com
    Vice-Chair: Brock Storrusten
    Withersravenel, Inc.
    111 MacKenan Drive
    Cary, NC 27511
    (919) 469-3340
    bstorrusten@withersravenel.com

         

    Senior Leaders Forum

      This forum serves as a platform for our member firms’ senior leadership to meet and exchange ideas on bettering our business practices with public and private sector clients. In addition, this forum will allow senior members to identify issues that the Board of ACEC/NC should consider focusing on and suggesting action items related to the political process that could be important to the long-term viability of the private engineering industry. Please note that this forum is mindful of anti-collusion requirements and will not discuss those items that could be construed as collusion.

    Board Liaison: Iona Thomas
    McAdams Company
    2905 Meridian Parkway
    Durham, NC 27713
    (919)361-5000
    thomas@mccadamsco.com
    Chair: Monty Irvin
    Ramey Kemp & Associates
    5808 Faringdon Place, Ste. 100

    Raleigh, NC 27609
    (919) 872-5115
    mirvin@rameykemp.com
    Vice-Chair: Valoree Eikinas
    Calyx Engineers &Consultants
    6750 Tryon Road
    Cary, NC 27518
    (919) 836-4800
    veikinas@calyxengineers.com

     

    Transportation Committee

     This committee serves as a liaison between ACEC/NC and the North Carolina Department of Transportation and other public agencies dealing with all areas of transportation including highways, railways, airports, waterways, mass transit, and other forms of public transportation. 

     

    Board Liaison:   Josh Dalton
    Sungate Design Group, P.A.
    905 Jones Franklin Road
    Raleigh, NC 27606
    (919) 859-2243
    jdalton@sungatedesign.com
    Chair:  Keith Skinner
    RK&K
    900 Ridgefield Drive, Ste. 350
    Raleigh, NC 27609
    (919) 878-9560
    kskinner@rkk.com
    Vice-Chair: Lisa Samples
    ms consultants, Inc.
    920 Main Campus Dr.Ste 430
    Raleigh, NC 27606
    (919) 772-5565
    LSamples@
    msconsultants.com
    Vice-Chair: David Diggs
    Kleinfelder
    6200 Harris Technology Blvd
    Charlotte, NC 28269
    (704) 598-1049
    ddiggs@kleinfelder.com