Skip to content

Committees & Forums

ACEC/NC Committees and Forums are one of the most important benefits to our members.  Each group has a Board nominated Chair and Vice-Chair who are selected each year from the active participants.  Your entire staff can be involved. Following are the Committees’ and Forums’ Chairs:

Click the Committee or Forum name to go to the description, Chairs and Liaisons:

Buildings & Infrastructure Committee

Focusing on all aspects of vertical development projects and their respective sites, this committee serves as liaison between ACEC/NC and multiple owner types and related agencies (including but not limited to higher education institutions, NC Office of State Construction, municipalities, K-12 school districts, healthcare institutions and private industry) and monitors their activities in project planning, design, construction, budgeting and selection of design firms. Focus areas include building construction, site and infrastructure development, code compliance, sustainability and energy conservation.

This committee also focuses on economic development activity that affects projects and member firms, with the goal to develop a mutually beneficial relationship between ACEC/NC and economic development organizations such as the North Carolina Economic Developers Association (NCEDA) and raise the visibility and profile of member firms within the economic development community.

Patrick Waterman 100x100

Board Liaison:  Patrick Waterman
LaBella Associates
400 South Tryon, Suite1300
Charlotte, NC 28285
(585) 770-2519

Alison Koss

Chair:  Alison Koss
KCI Associates of NC, PA
4505 Falls of Neuse Road, Suite 400
Raleigh, NC 27609
(919) 783-9214

Pete Nilsen

Vice-Chair: Pete Nilsen
Aerial Analytics LLC
7151 O'Kelley Chapel Rd.
Cary, NC 27519
(919) 417-2343

Buildings & Infrastructure Meeting Minutes


Business Practices Committee

Small and Large Business Leaders interested in improving the efficiency and operation of large and small firms are members of this committee. The objective of this committee is to reach out to and expand opportunities for business members of ACEC/NC, protect the interests of engineering firms, and offer business leaders a chance to leverage the collective knowledge of a larger group, to improve overall performance related to human resources, financial, legal, business development, and operations.


Board Liaison:  Liz Phipps
3300 Regency Pkwy., Ste. 100
Cary, NC 27518
(919) 836-4800

Craig Hyman

Chair: Craig Hyman
100 Regency Forest Dr.
Suite 130
Cary, NC 27518

Chris Bushnell

Vice-Chair: Chris Bushnell
The Wooten Company
120 N. Boylan Ave.
Raleigh, NC 27603
(919) 828-0531

Business Practices Meeting Minutes

Environmental/Energy Committee (joint with PENC)

This committee interacts with various departments and agencies of the State who are involved in environmental activities. Members interact with agency representatives to help improve relationships and assist in promoting environmental policies that benefit both member firms and State agencies. The committee also to monitor and develop an information program on energy/power and private industrial issues. This mirrors a national goal of serving this industry segment and providing value to private and utility sector firms. It will also promote recruitment of these firms to membership in ACEC/NC.

matthew fogleman

Board Liaison: Matt Fogleman
ECS Southeast, LLP
1900 Hendersonville Rd. #10
Asheville, NC 28803
(828) 665-2307

Chris Windley

ACEC/NC Co-Chair:
Chris Windley

CJS Conveyance, PLLC
302 Academy St.
Cary, NC 27511
(919) 890-3876

Leah young

PENC Co-Chair: Leah Young
KCI Associates of NC, PA
4505 Falls of Neuse Road, Suite 400
Raleigh, NC 27609
(919) 783-9214

Environmental/Energy Committee Minutes

Future Leaders Program

This program seeks to provide young professionals with the broad-based, in-depth industry knowledge they will need in order to rise into leadership positions within ACEC/NC member firms. Future Leaders are nominated annually for this program.

Radha 100x100

Board Liaison: Radha Krishna Swayampakala
RS&H Architects-Engineers-Planners, Inc.
1520 South Blvd., Suite 200
Charlotte, NC 28203
(704) 940-4788

Jessica McClure

Co-Chair:  Jessica McClure
Ramey Kemp Associates, Inc.
5808 Faringdon Place, Ste. 100
Raleigh, NC 27609
(919) 872-5115

hoffman 100x100

Co-Chair: Robby Hoffman
Summit Design and Engineering Services, PLLC
320 Executive Court
Hillsborough, NC 27278
(919) 732-3883

Legislative Committee

This committee monitors State and National legislation that may impact the engineering industry. The committee compiles the Council’s legislative agenda for approval by the Board of Directors and assists in the lobbying efforts to support that agenda. The committee also promotes and organizes events that focus on furthering the Council’s legislative agenda, and supporting our State and National Political Action Committees.

Iona Thomas Headshot

Board Liaison: Iona Thomas  
McAdams Company
2905 Meridian Parkway
Durham, NC 27713
(919) 361-5000

brock storrusten

Chair: Brock Storrusten
WithersRavenel, Inc.
111 MacKenan Drive
Cary, NC 27511
(919) 469-3340

john weavil

Vice-Chair: John Weavil
S&ME, Inc.
9751 Southern Pine Blvd
Charlotte, NC 28273
(704) 523-4726


Vice-Chair: Neil Deans
Kimley-Horn and Associates, Inc.
421 Fayetteville Street
Suite 600
Raleigh, NC 27601
(919) 677-2000

Legislative Committee Minutes

Executive Leaders Forum (formerly Senior Leaders)

This forum serves as a platform for our member firms’ senior leadership to meet and exchange ideas on bettering our business practices with public and private sector clients. In addition, this forum will allow senior members to identify issues that the Board of ACEC/NC should consider focusing on and suggesting action items related to the political process that could be important to the long-term viability of the private engineering industry. Please note that this forum is mindful of anti-collusion requirements and will not discuss those items that could be construed as collusion.

stephen greene

Board Liaison: Stephen Greene       
Ramey Kemp Associates, Inc.
5808 Faringdon Place, Ste. 100
Raleigh, NC 27609
(919) 872-5115

davis diggs

Co-Chair: Davis Diggs       
Kisinger Campo & Associates
305 S. Main St.
Kannapolis, NC28081
(704) 932-2122


Co-Chair: Joe Starr
Terracon Consultants, Inc.
2401 Brentwood Road, Ste. 107
Raleigh, NC 27604
(919) 873-2211

Transportation Committee

This committee serves as a liaison between ACEC/NC and the North Carolina Department of Transportation and other public agencies dealing with all areas of transportation including highways, railways, airports, waterways, mass transit, and other forms of public transportation.

mike holder

Board Liaison:
Mike Holder 

Gannett Fleming, Inc.
2610 Wycliff Road
Suite 102
Raleigh, NC 27607
(919) 420-7660

greg purvis

Chair: Greg Purvis
Wetherill Engineering, Inc.
559 Jones Franklin Rd.
Suite 164
Raleigh, NC 27606
(919) 851-8077

will letchworth

Vice-Chair: Will Letchworth
2905 Meridian Pkwy
Durham, NC 27713
(919) 361-5000

allen pope

Vice-Chair: Allen Pope
Colliers Engineering & Design
2000 Regency Pkwy., Ste. 295
Cary, NC 27518
(919) 439-6082

Transportation Committee Minutes

Transportation Subcommittee Minutes

Scroll To Top