Skip to content

Committees & Forums

ACEC/NC Committees and Forums are one of the most important benefits to our members.  Each group has a Board nominated Chair and Vice-Chair who are selected each year from the active participants.  Your entire staff can be involved. Following are the Committees’ and Forums’ Chairs:

Click the Committee or Forum name to go to the description, Chairs and Liaisons:

Buildings & Infrastructure Committee

Focusing on all aspects of vertical development projects and their respective sites, this committee serves as liaison between ACEC/NC and multiple owner types and related agencies (including but not limited to higher education institutions, NC Office of State Construction, municipalities, K-12 school districts, healthcare institutions and private industry) and monitors their activities in project planning, design, construction, budgeting and selection of design firms. Focus areas include building construction, site and infrastructure development, code compliance, sustainability and energy conservation.

This committee also focuses on economic development activity that affects projects and member firms, with the goal to develop a mutually beneficial relationship between ACEC/NC and economic development organizations such as the North Carolina Economic Developers Association (NCEDA) and raise the visibility and profile of member firms within the economic development community.

mike slusher

Board Liaison:  Mike Slusher
Davis-Martin & Associates, Inc.
6415 Old Plank Rd.
High Point, NC 27265
(336) 886-4821
mslusher@dmp-inc.com

Alison Koss

Chair:  Alison Koss
KCI Associates of NC, PA
4505 Falls of Neuse Road, Suite 400
Raleigh, NC 27609
(919) 783-9214
Alison.Koss@kci.com

Pete Nilsen

Vice-Chair: Pete Nilsen
Aerial Analytics LLC
7151 O'Kelley Chapel Rd.
Cary, NC 27519
(919) 417-2343
pnilsen@aerial-analytics.com

Business & Infrastructure Meeting Minutes

February 2018

Business Practices Committee

Small and Large Business Leaders interested in improving the efficiency and operation of large and small firms are members of this committee. The objective of this committee is to reach out to and expand opportunities for business members of ACEC/NC, protect the interests of engineering firms, and offer business leaders a chance to leverage the collective knowledge of a larger group, to improve overall performance related to human resources, financial, legal, business development, and operations.

Liz-at-130x160.jpg

Board Liaison:  Liz Phipps
KCI Associates of NC, PA
4601 Six Forks Rd, Ste. 220
Raleigh, NC 27609
(919) 783-9214
liz.phipps@kci.com

Justine D'Andrea

Chair: Justine D’Andrea
Summit Design & Engineering Services
320 Executive Court
Hillsborough, NC 27278
(919) 732-3883
justine.dandrea@summitde.com

Craig Hyman

Vice-Chair: Craig Hyman
Ramey Kemp Associates, Inc.
5808 Faringdon Place, Ste. 100
Raleigh, NC 27609
(919) 872-5115
chyman@rameykemp.com

Business Practices Meeting Minutes

Environmental/Energy Committee (joint with PENC)

This committee interacts with various departments and agencies of the State who are involved in environmental activities. Members interact with agency representatives to help improve relationships and assist in promoting environmental policies that benefit both member firms and State agencies. The committee also to monitor and develop an information program on energy/power and private industrial issues. This mirrors a national goal of serving this industry segment and providing value to private and utility sector firms. It will also promote recruitment of these firms to membership in ACEC/NC.

matthew fogleman

Board Liaison: Matt Fogleman
ECS Southeast, LLP
1900 Hendersonville Rd. #10
Asheville, NC 28803
(828) 665-2307
mfogleman@ecslimited.com

Chris Windley

ACEC/NC Co-Chair:
Chris Windley

CJS Conveyance, PLLC
302 Academy St.
Cary, NC 27511
(919) 890-3876
cwindley@cjsconveyance.com

Leah young

PENC Co-Chair: Leah Young
KCI Associates of NC, PA
4505 Falls of Neuse Road, Suite 400
Raleigh, NC 27609
(919) 783-9214
leah.young@kci.com

Environmental/Energy Committee Minutes

Future Leaders Program

This program seeks to provide young professionals with the broad-based, in-depth industry knowledge they will need in order to rise into leadership positions within ACEC/NC member firms. Future Leaders are nominated annually for this program.

mike holder

Board Liaison: Mike Holder
Gannett Fleming, Inc.
2610 Wycliff Rd, Ste. 102
Raleigh, NC 27607
(919) 420-7660
mholder@gfnet.com

Jessica McClure

Co-Chair:  Jessica McClure
Ramey Kemp Associates, Inc.
5808 Faringdon Place, Ste. 100
Raleigh, NC 27609
(919) 872-5115
Jmcclure@rameykemp.com

Legislative Committee

This committee monitors State and National legislation that may impact the engineering industry. The committee compiles the Council’s legislative agenda for approval by the Board of Directors and assists in the lobbying efforts to support that agenda. The committee also promotes and organizes events that focus on furthering the Council’s legislative agenda, and supporting our State and National Political Action Committees.

Iona Thomas Headshot

Board Liaison: Iona Thomas    
McAdams Company
2905 Meridian Parkway
Durham, NC 27713
(919) 361-5000
thomas@mcadamsco.com

brock storrusten

Chair: Brock Storrusten
WithersRavenel, Inc.
111 MacKenan Drive
Cary, NC 27511
(919) 469-3340
bstorrusten@withersravenel.com

john weavil

Vice-Chair: John Weavil (Trans)    
S&ME, Inc.
9751 Southern Pine Blvd
Charlotte, NC 28273
(704) 523-4726
jweavil@smeinc.com

patrick waterman

Vice-Chair: Patrick Waterman (CLT)
LaBella Associates 
400 South Tyron Street
Suite 1300
Charlotte, NC 28285
(585) 770-2519
PWaterman@LaBellaPC.com

Legislative Committee Minutes

Executive Leaders Forum (formerly Senior Leaders)

This forum serves as a platform for our member firms’ senior leadership to meet and exchange ideas on bettering our business practices with public and private sector clients. In addition, this forum will allow senior members to identify issues that the Board of ACEC/NC should consider focusing on and suggesting action items related to the political process that could be important to the long-term viability of the private engineering industry. Please note that this forum is mindful of anti-collusion requirements and will not discuss those items that could be construed as collusion.

stephen greene

Board Liaison: Stephen Greene       
Ramey Kemp Associates, Inc.
5808 Faringdon Place, Ste. 100
Raleigh, NC 27609
(919) 872-5115
Sgreene@rameykemp.com

Valoree eikinas

Chair: Valoree Eikinas       
N|V|5
6750 Tryon Road
Cary, NC 27518
(919) 836-4800
Valoree.Eikinas@nv5.com

spencer franklin

Vice-Chair: Spencer Franklin (RAL)
HNTB North Carolina, PC
343 E Six Forks Rd., Suite 200
Raleigh, NC 27609
(919) 546-8997
sfranklin@hntb.com

radha krishna swayampakala

Vice-Chair: Radha Krishna Swayampakala (CLT)
RS&H Architects-Engineers-Planners, Inc.
1520 South Blvd., Suite 200
Charlotte, NC 28203
(704) 940-4788
radhakrishna.swayampakala@rsandh.com

Transportation Committee

This committee serves as a liaison between ACEC/NC and the North Carolina Department of Transportation and other public agencies dealing with all areas of transportation including highways, railways, airports, waterways, mass transit, and other forms of public transportation.

will letchworth

Board Liaison:
Will Letchworth       

WSP
434 Fayetteville St., Ste. 1500
Raleigh, NC 27601
(919) 678-0035
Will.Letchworth@wsp.com

davis diggs

Chair: Davis Diggs
Kisinger Campo & Associates
305 S. Main St.
Kannapolis, NC 28081
(704) 932-2122
DDiggs@kcaeng.com  

greg purvis

Vice-Chair: Greg Purvis
Wetherill Engineering, Inc.
559 Jones Franklin Rd.
Suite 164
Raleigh, NC 27606
(919) 851-8077
gpurvis@wetherilleng.com

allen pope

Vice-Chair: Allen Pope
Colliers Engineering & Design
2000 Regency Pkwy., Ste. 295
Cary, NC 27518
(919) 439-6082
allen.pope@colliersengineering.com

Transportation Committee Minutes

Transportation Subcommittee Minutes

Scroll To Top