• Committees & Forums


  • ACEC/NC Committees and Forums are one of the most important benefits to our members.  Each group has a Board nominated Chair and Vice-Chair who are selected each year from the active participants.  Your entire staff can be involved. Following are the Committees’ and Forums’ Chairs:

    Click the Committee or Forum name to go to the description, Chairs and Liaisons:


     

    Buildings & Infrastructure Committee

       Focusing on all aspects of vertical development projects and their respective sites, this committee serves as liaison between ACEC/NC and multiple owner types and related agencies (including but not limited to higher education institutions, NC Office of State Construction, municipalities, K-12 school districts, healthcare institutions and private industry) and monitors their activities in project planning, design, construction, budgeting and selection of design firms. Focus areas include building construction, site and infrastructure development, code compliance, sustainability and energy conservation.
       This committee also focuses on economic development activity that affects projects and member firms, with the goal to develop a mutually beneficial relationship between ACEC/NC and economic development organizations such as the North Carolina Economic Developers Association (NCEDA) and raise the visibility and profile of member firms within the economic development community.

    Board Liaison: Matt Daves
    McKim & Creed, Inc.
    1730 Varsity Dr Suite 500
    Raleigh, NC 27606
    (919) 233-8091
    mdaves@mckimcreed.com
    Chair: Ron Rothfuss
    Terracon Consultants, Inc. 
    2020-E Starita Road. 
    Charlotte, NC 28206
    (704)509-1777
    ron.rothfuss@terracon.com

    Vice Chair: Eddie Brock
    REI Engineers 
    9121 Anson Way, Suite 100, 
    Raleigh, NC 27615 
    (919)845.1450x133
    ebrock@reiengineers.com

    ^RETURN TO LIST

     

    Business Practices Committee

       Small and Large Business Leaders interested in improving the efficiency and operation of large and small firms are members of this committee. The objective of this committee is to reach out to and expand opportunities for business members of ACEC/NC, protect the interests of engineering firms, and offer business leaders a chance to leverage the collective knowledge of a larger group, to improve overall performance related to human resources, financial, legal, business development, and operations.

    Board Liaison: Kraig Kern
    W.K. Dickson Co., Inc.
    616 Colonnade Drive
    Charlotte, NC 28205
    (704) 334-5348
    kckern@wkdickson.com
    Chair: Greg Sallee
    McAdams Company
    2905 Meridian Parkway
    Durham, NC 27713
    (919) 361-5000
    sallee@mcadamsco.com
    Vice-Chair: Susan Bostian
    Duncklee & Dunham
    511 Keisler Drive, Suite 102
    Cary, North Carolina 27518
    (919) 858-9898 x207
    susan@dunckleedunham.com

    ^RETURN TO LIST

     

    Environmental/Energy Committee

       This committee interacts with various departments and agencies of the State who are involved in environmental activities. Members interact with agency representatives to help improve relationships and assist in promoting environmental policies that benefit both member firms and State agencies. The committee also seeks to monitor and develop an information program on energy/power and private industrial issues. This mirrors a national goal of serving this industry segment and providing value to private and utility sector firms. 

    Board Liaison: Derek L. Clyburn, P.E.
    ECS CAROLINAS LLP
    9001 Glenwood Avenue
    Raleigh, NC  27617
    (919) 861-9910
    dclyburn@ecslimited.com 
    Chair: Bill Gilmore
    ICA Engineering
    5121 Kingdom Way #100
    Raleigh, NC 27607
    (919) 851-6066
    bgilmore@icaeng.com
    Vice-Chair: Wendee Smith
    Sepi Engineering & Construction
    1025 Wade Avenue
    Raleigh, NC 27605
    (919) 573-9916 
    wsmith@sepiengineering.com

    ^RETURN TO LIST

     

    Future Leaders Program

       This program seeks to provide young professionals with the broad-based, in-depth industry knowledge they will need in order to rise into leadership positions within ACEC/NC member firms. Future Leaders are nominated annually for this program.

    Board Liaison: To be filled 2017

    Chair: Stephen Browde
    Calyx Engineers & Consultants
    6750 Tryon Road
    Cary, NC 27518
    (919) 836-4800
    sbrowde@calyxengineers.com

    ^RETURN TO LIST

     

    Legislative Committee

       This committee monitors State and National legislation that may impact the engineering industry. The committee compiles the Council’s legislative agenda for approval by the Board of Directors and assists in the lobbying efforts to support that agenda. The committee also promotes and organizes events that focus on furthering the Council’s legislative agenda.
     

    Board Liaison: Monty Irvin
    Ramey Kemp & Associates
    5808 Faringdon Place, Ste. 100
    Raleigh, NC 27609
    (919) 872-5115
    mirvin@rameykemp.com 
    Chair: Brian Glidewell
    S&ME, Inc.
    3718 Old Battleground Road
    Greensboro, NC 27410
    (336) 288-7180
    bglidewell@smeinc.com

    Vice-Chair: Jeremy Potter
    HDR 
    555 Fayetteville Street, Suite 900
    Raleigh, NC 27601
    Greensboro, NC 27410
    (919)232.6669
    Jeremy.Potter@hdrinc.com
    PAC Chair: Gary Hartong
    The Wooten Company
    120 North Boylan Avenue 
    Raleigh, NC 27603
    (919) 828-0531
    ghartong@thewootencompany.com

    ^RETURN TO LIST

    Senior Leaders Forum

       This forum serves as a platform for our member firms’ senior leadership to meet and exchange ideas on bettering our business practices with public and private sector clients. In addition, this forum will allow senior members to identify issues that the Board of ACEC/NC should consider focusing on and suggesting action items related to the political process that could be important to the long-term viability of the private engineering industry. Please note that this forum is mindful of anti-collusion requirements and will not discuss those items that could be construed as collusion.


    Board Liaison: Glenda Gibson, P.E.
    Mott MacDonald
    7621 Purfoy Road, Ste. 115
    Fuquay-Varina, NC  27526
    Tel:     (919) 552-2253
    Fax:     (919) 552-2254
    glenda.gibson@mottmac.com
    Co-Chair: Valoree Eikinas
    Calyx Engineers & Consultants 
    6750 Tryon Road
    Cary, NC 27518
    (919) 836-4800
    veikinas@calyxengineers.com
    Co-Chair: Jeff Douglas
    HDR
    555 Fayetteville St #900
    Raleigh, NC  27601
    (919) 785-1118
    Jeffrey.Douglas@hdrinc.com 

    ^RETURN TO LIST

     

    Transportation Committee

       This committee serves as a liaison between ACEC/NC and the North Carolina Department of Transportation and other public agencies dealing with all areas of transportation including highways, railways, airports, waterways, mass transit, and other forms of public transportation.
     

    Board Liaison: Paul Meehan
    HDR Engineering, Inc.
    440 S. Church Street, Ste. 1000
    Charlotte, NC 28202
    (704) 338-6700
    paul.meehan@hdrinc.com
    Chair: Josh Dalton
    Sungate Design Group, PA
    915 Jones Franklin Road,
    Raleigh, NC 27606
    (919) 859-2243
     jdalton@sungatedesign.com
    Vice Chair: Paul Jacob
    Moffatt and Nichol 
    1616 East Millbrook Road, Ste. 160
    Raleigh, NC 27609 
    919)781-4626
    pjacob@moffattnichol.com

    ^RETURN TO LIST