• Committees & Forums


  • ACEC/NC Committees and Forums are one of the most important benefits to our members.  Each group has a Board nominated Chair and Vice-Chair who are selected each year from the active participants.  Your entire staff can be involved. Following are the Committees’ and Forums’ Chairs:

    Click the Committee or Forum name to go to the description, Chairs and Liaisons:


     

    Buildings & Infrastructure Committee

      Focusing on all aspects of vertical development projects and their respective sites, this committee serves as liaison between ACEC/NC and multiple owner types and related agencies (including but not limited to higher education institutions, NC Office of State Construction, municipalities, K-12 school districts, healthcare institutions and private industry) and monitors their activities in project planning, design, construction, budgeting and selection of design firms. Focus areas include building construction, site and infrastructure development, code compliance, sustainability and energy conservation.

     This committee also focuses on economic development activity that affects projects and member firms, with the goal to develop a mutually beneficial relationship between ACEC/NC and economic development organizations such as the North Carolina Economic Developers Association (NCEDA) and raise the visibility and profile of member firms within the economic development community.

    Board Liaison: Matt Daves
    McKim & Creed, Inc.
    1730 Varsity Drive, Ste. 500
    Raleigh, NC 27606
    (919) 233-8091
    mdaves@mckimcreed.com
    Chair: Eddie Brock
    REI Engineers
    9121 Anson Way, Suite 100
    Raleigh, NC 27615
    (919) 845-1450x133
    ebrock@reiengineers.com
    Vice-Chair: Andrew D. Sigmon
    McKim & Creed, Inc.
    1730 Varsity Drive, Ste. 500
    Raleigh, NC 27606
    (919) 233-8091
    asigmon@mckimcreed.com

    ^RETURN TO LIST

     

    Business Practices Committee

       Small and Large Business Leaders interested in improving the efficiency and operation of large and small firms are members of this committee. The objective of this committee is to reach out to and expand opportunities for business members of ACEC/NC, protect the interests of engineering firms, and offer business leaders a chance to leverage the collective knowledge of a larger group, to improve overall performance related to human resources, financial, legal, business development, and operations.

    Board Liaison: Gary Hartong
    The Wooten Company
    120 North Boylan Avenue
    Raleigh, NC 27603
    (919) 828-0531
    ghartong@thewootencompany.com
    Chair: Greg Sallee
    McAdams Company
    2905 Meridian Parkway
    Durham, NC 27713
    (919) 361-5000
    sallee@mcadamsco.com
    Vice Chair: Justine D. Andrea
    Ramey Kemp Associates
    5808 Faringdon Place, Suite 100
    Raleigh, NC 27609
    (919) 987-1290
    jdandrea@rameykemp.com

    ^RETURN TO LIST

     

    Environmental/Energy Committee

       This committee interacts with various departments and agencies of the State who are involved in environmental activities. Members interact with agency representatives to help improve relationships and assist in promoting environmental policies that benefit both member firms and State agencies. The committee also seeks to monitor and develop an information program on energy/power and private industrial issues. This mirrors a national goal of serving this industry segment and providing value to private and utility sector firms. 

    Board Liaison: Amit Sachan
    ATKINS
    1616 E. Millbrook Road, Ste. 310
    Raleigh, NC 27609
    (919) 876-6888
    Amit.Sachan@atkinsglobal.com
    Co-Chair: Wendee Smith
    North State Environmental
    2889 Lowery Street
    Winston Salem NC 27101
    (919)270-8430
    w.smith@nsenv.com
    Co-Chair: Sarah Spagnola
    Duke Energy
    401 South Wilmington Street
    Raleigh, NC 27601
    (919) 452-2777
    sarah.spagnola@duke-energy.com

    ^RETURN TO LIST

     

    Future Leaders Program

       This program seeks to provide young professionals with the broad-based, in-depth industry knowledge they will need in order to rise into leadership positions within ACEC/NC member firms. Future Leaders are nominated annually for this program.

     

    Board Liaison:  James A. Smith, Jr
    ACEC/NC
    150 Fayetteville Street, #1340
    Raleigh, NC 27601
    (919) 782-7934
    jsmith@acecnc.org
    Chair: Stephen Browde
    Calyx Engineers & Consultants
    6750 Tryon Road
    Cary, NC 27518
    (919) 836-4800
    sbrowde@calyxengineers.com

     

    ^RETURN TO LIST

     

    Legislative Committee

       This committee monitors State and National legislation that may impact the engineering industry. The committee compiles the Council’s legislative agenda for approval by the Board of Directors and assists in the lobbying efforts to support that agenda. The committee also promotes and organizes events that focus on furthering the Council’s legislative agenda.

    Board Liaison: 
       Brian Glidewell
    S&ME, Inc.
    3718 Old Battleground Road
    Greensboro, NC 27410
    (336) 288-7180
    bglidewell@smeinc.com
    Chair: Jeremy Potter
    HDR
    555 Fayetteville St #900
    Raleigh, NC 27601
    (919) 232.6669
    Jeremy.Potter@hdrinc.com
    Vice-Chair: Jay Barr
    REI Engineers, Inc.
    1927 JN Pease Pl Ste.201
    Charlotte, NC 28262
    (704) 595-0331
    jbarr@reiengineers.com
    PAC Champion:
       Scott Hinesley

    REI Engineers, Inc.
    1927 JN Pease Place Ste. 201
    Charlotte, NC 28262
    (704) 595-0331 x 222
    shinesley@reiengineers.com

    ^RETURN TO LIST

    Senior Leaders Forum

       This forum serves as a platform for our member firms’ senior leadership to meet and exchange ideas on bettering our business practices with public and private sector clients. In addition, this forum will allow senior members to identify issues that the Board of ACEC/NC should consider focusing on and suggesting action items related to the political process that could be important to the long-term viability of the private engineering industry. Please note that this forum is mindful of anti-collusion requirements and will not discuss those items that could be construed as collusion.

    Board Liaison: Steph Hachem
    Kimley-Horn
    421 Fayetteville Street, Ste. 600
    Raleigh, NC 27601
    (919) 835-1494
    steph.hachem@kimley-horn.com
    Chair: Valoree Eikinas
    Calyx Engineers & Consultants 
    6750 Tryon Road
    Cary, NC 27518
    (919) 836-4800
    veikinas@calyxengineers.com

    ^RETURN TO LIST

     

    Transportation Committee

       This committee serves as a liaison between ACEC/NC and the North Carolina Department of Transportation and other public agencies dealing with all areas of transportation including highways, railways, airports, waterways, mass transit, and other forms of public transportation.
     

    Board Liaison:
       Paul Meehan

    HDR
    555 Fayetteville St #900
    Raleigh, NC 27601
    (919) 232.6611
    paul.meehan@hdrinc.com
    Chair: Paul Jacob
    Moffatt and Nichol
    1616 E Millbrook Rd, Ste. 160
    Raleigh, NC 27609
    (919)781-4626
    pjacob@moffattnichol.com
    Vice-Chair:
       Jason Peterson

    S&ME
    3201 Spring Forest Road
    Raleigh, NC 27616
    (919) 872-2660
    jpeterson@smeinc.com
    Vice-Chair: Keith Skinner
    RK&K
    900 Ridgefield Dr, Ste. 350
    Raleigh, NC 27609
    (919) 878-9560
    kskinner@rkk.com

    ^RETURN TO LIST